Wallis and Futuna

Continent – Oceania

Region –South Pacific

Size – 142.42 km2

Geography – Consists of three principal volcanic tropical islands, namely the Wallis Islands, the Futuna Islands and the Alofi Island along with a number of small islets

Language – French (official language); Uvean, Futunan

Religion – 99% Catholic (Roman Catholic Diocese of Wallis and Futuna)

Monetary Unit – CFP franc (XPF)

Natural Resources – Negligible

Agriculture – Coconuts, breadfruit, yams, bananas, taro, pigs, goats, fish

Industry – Copra, handicrafts, lumber, fishing

Neighboring Countries – None (island)

Population – 15,500 (2014 estimate)

Population Growth Rate – 0.33%

Capital City – Mata-Utu (population 1,126)

Highest Mountain – Highest point: Mont Puke (on the island of Futuna) 524m

Yearly Rainfall – 2,500 to 3,000 mm (average)

Plant Life – Bananas, breadfruit, coconuts, pineapple, oranges, mangos, lemons, papayas, yams, taros, manioc

Animal Life – Pigs, hens, lizards, fruit bat

Bird Life – 39 species including terns, gannets, white-collared kingfishers, polynesian trillers, Fiji shrikebills

Aquatic Life – Tortoises, dolphins, sharks, marine fishes

Facts and Figures Pages

World Facts
Country Facts