Falkland Islands

Continent – South America

Region – South Atlantic Ocean

Size – 12,200 km2

Geography – Consists of two main islands, namely West Falkland and East Falkland along with around 776 smaller islands; islands are mostly mountainous and hilly

Language – English

Religion – 66 % Christianity, 32% no religious affiliations, 2% other faiths

Monetary Unit – Falklands pound (FKP)

Natural Resources – Fish, squid, calcified seaweed, wildlife, sphagnum moss

Agriculture – Fodder, vegetable crops, sheep, dairy products

Industry – Fish, wool processing, tourism

Neighboring Countries – None (island group)

Population – 2,932 (2012 estimate)

Population Growth Rate – 0.01%

Capital City – Stanley (population 2,115)

Highest Mountain – Highest point: Mount Usborne (705 m)

Yearly Rainfall – Around 573.6 mm

Plant Life – Grasses, ferns, shrubs,

Animal Life – Cats, rats, sheep

Bird Life – 227 species including black-browed albatross, silver teal, Chiloe wigeon, white-tufted grebe, black-crowned night heron

Aquatic Life – killer whales, peale’s dolphins, commerson’s dolphins, southern elephant seals, leopard seals, southern sea lions, king penguins

Facts and Figures Pages

World Facts
Country Facts